Rustic Apple Crumble

IMG_7117
Today in a restaurant/bakery across the street from Dublin Castle, we were looking at the baked goods in the case.  My mom asked the waitress which dessert is the most traditional dessert in Ireland. The waitress answered “the rustic apple crumble.”  The reason why she said this is because her mother used to put coins in the crumble on Halloween so somebody would find the money and they would keep it. The waitress looked so excited and happy when she shared her memory (she also admitted that the tradition presented a slight choking hazard). I researched this and found out that it is an Irish tradition to put coins, rags and rings in desserts.

When I tried the apple crumble, I learned that it is delicious, especially with creme fraiche.  Van agreed.

FullSizeRender-6

15 thoughts on “Rustic Apple Crumble

  1. Hey Lena and Van! That dessert looks delicious! Trying foods (especially dessert, and especially dessert in Europe) in places far from home is one of my favorite things about traveling. Looks like you’re having a great time, and I can’t wait to hear all about it!

  2. Waiting for more posts…. Want to learn more about Ireland; history, geography and food. Keep the information coming!

  3. Oh, before I forget, Van, I believe, mentioned that Samuel Beckett lived at your place. Did Godot ever turn up, and why were those two characters waiting for him? Does anyone over there know? Just wondering…..

  4. Please give me the name of that place! I want to eat some when I go to Ireland. It looks so tasty and crumbly! Mmmmmm…..

Leave a Reply

