Oscar Wilde and Hamburgers

Oscar Wilde was an Irish playwright, poet, and author. He was born in Dublin and his house is across the street from Merrion Square, which is where Van and I play. Wilde also has a colorful statue there. He was known for his sarcastic humor. One of his quotes that I like is “Experience is simply the name we give our mistakes.” The reason why this is funny to me is because everyone makes a lot of mistakes and it is nicer to say that everyone has a lot of experience. Another is “I have the simplest tastes. I am always satisfied with the best.” The reason why this is funny to me is because the best is not simple. My dad’s favorite quote is “I can resist everything except temptation.”

FullSizeRender-11Speaking of temptation…the other day we got hamburgers with the JMU students and they were delicious. We got them at a restaurant called Bobo’s. Bo means cow in the Irish language. When I saw the students get their hamburgers I really wanted to get mine faster. I was so hungry that I ended up eating the whole thing.

11 thoughts on “Oscar Wilde and Hamburgers

  1. My favorite quote is “I wouldn’t be paranoid if people weren’t always trying to get me.”

      1. my favorite one is “When I was young I thought money was the most important thing in life, now that I am old, I know that it is.”

Leave a Reply

