Ding, Ding, Dong

FullSizeRender_1

St. Anne’s in Shandon

IMG_7416

Van playing Waltzing Matilda to the people of Cork.

When I walked up to the church of St. Anne’s in Shandon I thought it was going to be a boring walk up to the tower. I thought that I was going to fall because it was so old and so tall, but I wanted to go once I saw other people up there.

The church was built in 1722, 293 years ago. It is one of the tallest and oldest buildings in Cork.

The best part was ringing the church bells. To ring the bells I had to use the method of pulling a rope that led to the bells. The ropes were numbered from 8 to 1. 8 rang the highest bell, 1 rang the lowest. You had to be strong to pull the rope in order to ring the bell.

When we kept climbing higher when I was about to reach the top somebody started playing the bells and I was scared. The bells were really loud!

IMG_7393

Church bells covered in pigeon poop.

When we reached the clockworks, it was so complicated because there were so many different parts of the clock. My sister and I were eager to reach the top. We kept climbing while my mom took pictures. Right when I saw the bells, the clock stuck the quarter hour. Bbbbbbbbbbbbooooooooooooommmmmmmm!!!!! My sister almost screamed. We ran right down the stairs because I thought the bells would swing when they were hit and bang me on the head.

I waited for my mom to stop taking pictures, then we both went up. She went first because I didn’t want to get hit by the bells.

FullSizeRender

You can University College Cork from there.

When we reached the top, it was awesome!   I felt like I could see the whole entire world.

Inside the church, we bought a beautiful piece of art as a memento.

4 thoughts on “Ding, Ding, Dong

  1. Hi Van, this is Dylan. I really hope you come back soon! I really liked your story! Was it hard to ring the bell? Are you liking Ireland? I miss you!

    1. I miss you to but I’m not going to come back till the end of July.Ringing the bell was hard to ring the first but not the second because on the first I didn’t no how hard I had to pull.Im liking Ireland a lot better then the states Except Im mising you and my other friends.

Leave a Reply

